Home / Community / Forum / Poker Community / Brags, Beats and Variance /

2nl cash table, Stars Variance.

Old
2nl cash table, Stars Variance. - Wed Sep 10, 2014, 06:17 PM
(#1)
Since: Mar 2014
So i started playing cash yesterday, and look at my first 2 AA hands. I've had AA 8 times so far, 6 folded pots, and these 2.

Not folding an over pair to a donktard, can't exactly put him on 36 for the straight...

Top set good enough? na.

Old
Wed Oct 01, 2014, 05:48 PM
(#2)
Since: Aug 2010
Well,like you said,you just recently started playing 2NL.

So maybe by now,seeing as this post is 3 weeks old (I just don't come here much anymore) you've had Rule #1 at 2NL drilled into your head...

...If they bet like they have,they have it.

First hand as soon as the shove came I knew it was either 63 or 86. Should they ever be spewing money into the pot to chase a gutter like that? Of course not. But that's what bad players do. Just value bet them to death,but if they suddenly go from calling to betting back at you or even shoving take a long look at the board and how it could interact with their cards? DO NOT look at it as how YOU would play,but from the view-point of "Would a bad player chase a gut-shot like this?"

Second hand,same thing. As soon as he bet back at you,KT was an obvious possibility.

Classic bad player line here...limps along with a marginal hand,compounds this by making a horrible call when you 3-bet to 6x. Hard to find you fold button here with top set,I get that. Not sure I could. But his play here is a play you have to account for at 2NL...he limped,once he did that then a hand like KTs falls easily within the range of what he would call your 3-bet with. Heck,a K and a red #5 UNO card would fall into the range he would call your 3-bet with for most players at 2NL because they play like petulant 5-year olds. He had already put 2 cents in the pot,he's never leaving the hand until he sees a flop.

That's a prevalent mind-set at 2NL.

Old
Thu Oct 02, 2014, 02:50 PM