Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

$1/$2 NL., Hand evaluation: small pocket pair in position vs AJo

Old
$1/$2 NL., Hand evaluation: small pocket pair in position vs AJo - Tue Sep 16, 2014, 10:30 AM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2014
I'd like your opinion on how you would have played this out. I'm new to live table poker, playing $1/$2 NL. I create and play a table image that I hope is perceived as tight aggressive. I fold nearly 80-90% of my pre-flop hands and try to play only premium hands; which means maybe 1 hand an hour.

To set up the hand to discuss I want to explain a previous hand.

Earlier in the session I had pocket kings which turned into a boat and heads up play. The betting went along the lines of $15 raise, $25 raise, and a raise re-raise of $75 to $150. However when I pushed in the $150 the player put me on pocket kings, which was fine. He could call me and find out

He said to himself, "I should fold." I thought he said, "I fold." So I turned over my kings to get the pot. I might have been able to squeeze the extra $75 out of him if I was more careful. But it did show the table how new I am, including the villain for the hand I want to discuss.

So a half hour later I'm BB and the table has folded, SB Limps in with $2. I say, "check" and bump the table with my middle three fingers. The villain, who is not even in play says, "he called chop." I reiterate that I verbally called check, but the villain makes a spectacle of himself, I let it go, and ultimately the SB and me do chop the pot to move on...still I'm embarrassed. However there were a few at the table who heard and supported that I verbalized checking the hand. Anyway, now I just don't like this guy and am waiting for a hand to hit him on.