Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

How to properly 4-bet light?

Old
How to properly 4-bet light? - Tue Sep 23, 2014, 04:24 AM
(#1)
Since: Dec 2012
BronzeStar
I know that the best positions to 4-bet light is on the DB maybe even on the CO, and sometimes in the SB/BB. My questions are : 1)What type of hands are you 4-betting light with? 2)How big do you make your 4-bets in position and out of position respectively? 4)Would you 4-bet tighter against a LAP (loose passive), TAG and TP (tight passive) as opposed to when playing against an LAG player?

Old
Tue Sep 23, 2014, 06:34 AM
(#2)
Since: Feb 2014
If you're writing in the beginner section, the answer is probably: Don't do it.

Old
Not a beginner - Tue Sep 23, 2014, 02:14 PM
(#3)
Since: Dec 2012
BronzeStar
I'm not a beginner.

Old
Wed Sep 24, 2014, 12:39 AM
(#4)
Since: Oct 2011
A5s and A4s. Sometimes A3s.
Do it especially in CO or BUT vs the blinds, because then the villains are more likely to be 3-betting light and hence are more likely to fold to a 4-bet.
If someone in position 3-bets your EP or MP open, you should theoretically have a 4-bet bluff range, but in practice up to 50NL, you should just get out of the way and only continue with the top of your range. Most villains aren't 3-betting light vs early position opens, so they won't be folding to a 4-bet, so it would basically be spew to play back at them.

Against callers, don't 3-bet or 4-bet light at all. Just stick with your value hands.

Bracelet Winner

Old
Wed Sep 24, 2014, 03:20 AM
(#5)
Do you have any stats for the EV of your light 4 bets Arty?

Old
Thu Sep 25, 2014, 08:19 PM
(#6)
Since: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishwick View Post
Do you have any stats for the EV of your light 4 bets Arty?