Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Texas Hold'Em Cash Games /

Beginner here... Played KK on BB pretty badly

Old
Beginner here... Played KK on BB pretty badly - Tue Sep 30, 2014, 01:52 AM
(#1)
Since: Sep 2014
Okay, so this is my first post here and I'm just starting to play poker for money. Micro Stakes. Decides to go to a SNG STT $1.10 buy in.

Played pretty tight, but I think I may not have been aggressive enough here. before and after the flop. I may be completely wrong though. Any advice? Should I have raised more pre flop to scare off a small pair or was raising 9xbb a good call with bad luck/play after the flop being what beat me?

I know it's pretty basic stuff probably for most of you, but I am still learning, so any help would be great!

http://www.boomplayer.com/en/poker-h...203_CB343D7760

Old
Tue Sep 30, 2014, 03:56 AM
(#2)
Since: Apr 2011
Hey Malky,

Welcome to Pokerschoolonline. First, before the flop I think you played it aggressive enough. A standard raize is 3x BB + 1BB for every limper. Which means that your pre-flop raise is something between 350 and 400. However, if players a really loose, I might make it a little bit more (e.g. 450).

On the flop, I would just continue showing the agression of your pre-flop play. We don't want to give away a free card to the other 2 players, so I would just go all-in here (instead of checking). When player 4 hits a set is unfortunate, but that's part of the game. The fact that player 4 is calling such a re-raise with 66s pre-flop says more about him than you.

It's not a shame to ask questions! Everyone was a beginner once

Bracelet Winner

Old
Tue Sep 30, 2014, 07:29 AM
(#3)
Since: Feb 2013
Actually the standaard raise is 3BB + 1BB per limper + 1BB for being out of position, so 450 is perfect