Home / Community / Forum / Poker Education / Poker Education & Beginners Questions /

Probability Question

Old
Probability Question - Tue Dec 17, 2002, 03:08 AM
(#1)
Deleted user
Could someone please confirm or otherwise that the probability that overcards will flop when you hold the following pairs are:

KK - 23%
QQ - 41%
JJ - 57%

etc....

If i'm wrong can u show me why please.

Thanks

Old
Tue Dec 17, 2002, 03:37 AM
(#2)
Deleted user
This was a bunch of flawed math (I never said I was a rocket scientist).

Hazy

Old
Tue Dec 17, 2002, 06:36 AM
(#3)
Deleted user
Thanks for you time on this hazy. The way i worked out, say, the probability that overcards would flop for QQ was as follows:

P(overcards will flop) = 1 - P(no overcards flop)
= 1 - P(no ov/ca on first flop card)*P(no
ov/ca on 2nd flop card)*P(no overcard
on 3rd flop card)
= 1 - (42/50)*(41/49)*(40/48)
= 41%

So we get different numbers... I'm too tired to concentrate (marathon WPO warmup that takes about 10 hours to knock the 16th person out) but when i wake up i'll have a good look at the way you do it. In particular, the thing you said about AK looks very interesting.

Thanks again

James

Old
Tue Dec 17, 2002, 06:41 AM
(#4)
Deleted user
That way works, and is more mathematically correct, but for figuring on the fly, and since the 3 cards are coming regardless, I use my method (it's a lot easier to divide once than three times in your head).

Old
Tue Dec 17, 2002, 06:53 AM
(#5)
Deleted user
Your absolutely right that its quicker hazy - but i've got to put my maths (notice the 's', we do more of it this side of the pond ) degree to some use... thanks for pointing out how the calcs change when you can confidently put someone on a hand like AK, hadn't really thought about that

Old
Re: Probability Question - Tue Dec 17, 2002, 09:08 AM
(#6)
Deleted user
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb7643